Nugget Shooter Forums

Noob here, what detector?

garrddogg

Hi everybody, new guy here.. Im askin for advice as to what detector to go after.. Im new to detectin and lookin for a GOOD used detector I was lookin at buyin a new extera 70 but thought maybe I could find a better used one in my price range. I figure $1000 to maybe $2000 for the right deal on one. Im in Lake Havasu City.... AZ and will be lookin more for nuggets than Relics. I know the ML 4500 is the best but outta my range, and I was told the 4000 wasnt as good as it was supposed to be. (again this only what I was told) please correct me if im wrong.

So I guess my question is what do I want? what should look for in a detector?

Thanks in advance the new guy, lookin to learn.

Gary

Hi everybody, new guy here.. Im askin for advice as to what detector to go after.. Im new to detectin and lookin for a GOOD used detector I was lookin at buyin a new extera 70 but thought maybe I could find a better used one in my price range. I figure $1000 to maybe $2000 for the right deal on one. Im in Lake Havasu City.... AZ and will be lookin more for nuggets than Relics. I know the ML 4500 is the best but outta my range, and I was told the 4000 wasnt as good as it was supposed to be. (again this only what I was told) please correct me if im wrong.

Gary

I just want to throw this out there - You can start by spending a whole lot less money buying a Fisher Gold Bug 2, or a Tesoro Lobo Super Traq. Both machines run about $700, and can easily handle the highly mineralized soils in the desert. You could also buy a used Minelab 2200 - or better - for a thousand to two-thousand dollars. Watch Ebay for a deal, they happen every day.