Nugget Shooter Forums

MINELAB Thoughts & Questions

OldSalt

I have been prospecting (Weekends) for around four years now. I am on third VLF (Now a Tesoro Lobo) and have not had any luck whatsoever here in Arizona detecting. However, I have had a significant amount of luck using a gasoline powered vacuum and crevicing methods.

Eventually, I would like to move up to a MineLab and sell off my prospecting gear, vac, high banker, sluices, etc.

It seems to me that it would be so much easier having a quality detector then lugging around and storing so much gear.

What is it that makes a PI detector (MineLab) so much better then a VLF? Is it the depth it can detect or there ability to operate in mineralized grounds?

I noticed that the majority of nuggets that are dug these days seem to be pretty deep.

When I have enough money to buy a MineLab, say $3000 should I be looking for a new model or a used model?

I am also wondering if anyone would be willing to give me some training on operation when I finally do purchase one.

Lastly, I am wondering when was the last time anyone in AZ found a nugget with a VLF?

OldSalt

I am by no means an expert but if I were you I would never sell your other prospecting equipment. It seems that most people will go a great stretch of time between finding gold when using any medal detector. When I get frustrated or just need to see some gold I dust off my other prospecting equipment and go dig a hole. There is a far bigger percentage of small gold then detectable size gold so the more tools you have the more gold you will find. Gold is being found with VLF medal detectors and I found my first nugget in AZ last weekend. The PI machines will find more gold but there are areas where a VLF will also do well.