Nugget Shooter Forums

First Stoney! ( I think)

Hello all,

With time on my hands this weekend I decided to look through some of the many meteorwrongs Zaya and I have collected over the last year of hunting in 2008. Well I am no expert and with a little over a year of experience under little Z-man and my belt, I sat down and looked them over before throwing them away. While doing so I came across a small stone which caught my eye. It weighs a whopping 4.2 grams!!! It sticks to my neo mag pretty strongly. It also has small stress fractures on it as well as fusion crust?

Take a look at these photos and pipe in. I promise I will not get my feelings hurt if it is not. Now with a little more experience and help from great folks like Ruben, Ben, Erik, MIke, Paul and the great folks of this forum, I have a good feeling about this one. Here are the pics. Thanks all.

possiblemeteorite019.jpg

possiblemeteorite009.jpg

possiblemeteorite014.jpg

possiblemeteorite022.jpg

Dean

Hi Dean,

Yes, it has the looks of a chondrite. Have you streak tested it on unglazed porcelein? Will it make a sound on your metal detector? I know it's not a large specimen but, now it's time to take a deep breath and either window a corner of the stone with a file, or cut it into two parts with a rock saw. Very nice pics. By the way, I hope you remember WHERE you found it. Spring is just around the corner................

Bueno Suerte, Ben

Hello all,

I did a streak test and filed a window. It does not look good. It left a brown streak (hematite?) Here is a photo of the filed area.

Thanks Felipe, Ben, Wayne, John and all for looking and for the feedback! This year is the year!

http://i264.pho

Hello all,

I did a streak test and filed a window. It does not look good. It left a brown streak (hematite?) Here is a photo of the filed area.

Thanks Felipe, Ben, Wayne, John and all for looking and for the feedback! This year is the year!

DSCF0066.jpg

Dean

Hello all,

DSCF0066.jpg

Dean

Dean,