Nugget Shooter Forums

Garrit ace 250

Fuzzy699

Im new to gold hunting. I have a Garrit Ace 250 and will have to wait till I get the $$$ to get a more desireable gold machine. I was just curious what my odds of finding gold with the ace 250 or would i be wasting time. I live in Phoenx area so I know im in driving distance of gold areas. Thanks for any info.

well, if you are heading to hard hit areas, probably slim to none...but, you just can't beat beginners luck...

There is a great and true story of a load of gold found by a novice and a "low-end machine"...it happened not long ago. SO, do your research and have a go!

I don't know the 250 but my unasked for advice is to go try some nuggets and see how they do in an air test...that will be the smallest size you can hope in the real world of soil matrixs...if not nuggets, buy some split shot of various sizes and try them in a wash with rock and black sands...you can learn a lot that way.

If you start hunting coins every day for a hour at parks and schools you will be amazed how quick the coins add up and help subsidize a used nugget detector...

Best wishes

fred

I own two VLF Gold detectors and a Garret Ace 250.

I have a few test nuggets and the Garret, in my garden, detects a 7.1 grain nugget at about 3 inches with the sensitivity where it is when you power on the machine. about 4.5 inches if you are able to increase the sensitivity to 100%.

The Ace 250 is by no way, IMHO, a gold machine, but on very exposed bedrock, you might have some luck.

Btw, also IMHO, the pinpoint feature of the Ace 250 works WONDERFULY. Holding down the pinpoint button generates a threshold tone like higher end VLF machines and where you get the peak signal in each direction is where the target resides. Very accurate pinpointing.

My daughter loves taking the 250 to the park and making 10 bucks in an hour or two :D

Nathan.