Nugget Shooter Forums

Meteorite hunting in Alaska

Hi all,

As most of you know I've been a professional meteorite hunter for years. However, my expertise is limited to the southwestern part of the United States.

I know that many of you follow the work done in Antarctica a lot more closely than I do. I know that meteorites have been recovered there for over two decades and more recently in eastern Manitoba, Canada. All due to ancient glaciers and their movements. My questions are as follows:

1)Has anyone really searched for meteorites in other glacial areas such as Alaska?

2)Is there any reason to believe that meteorites wouldn't be found there? 3)Are the Alaskan glaciers old enough to sufficiently "catch" meteorites?

I may be planning a trip there and would like any advice on the subject.

Ruben Garcia

Phoenix, Arizona

http://www.mr-meteorite.com

http://www.youtube.com/profile_videos?user...rfright&p=v

Hey Ruben, I think one the main differences between Antactica and Alaska is the fact that Antartica is a desert. Most of the same mechanisms that help unearth meteorites here in the southwestern deserts (deflation, ice rifting, etc) are happening down there too only there is a convergent plate boundary that helps gather the meteorites in a single location and the cold dry temperatures help preserve them.

I can't imagine Alaska is a conducive environment for meteorite preservation considering how wet and green the place is... You know it's one of those states that actually gets "four seasons" instead of two. :laught16: Maybe if you get above the arctic circle where it's a little more dry? I'm not sure, though If I were you I would probably read up on the geology of glaciers to understand exactly how they erode. I would think if there's constant freezing and thawing on a glacier this wouldn't help keep meteorites around for very long.