Nugget Shooter Forums

a little story for you all

Guest bedrock bob

Guest bedrock bob

I hope you enjoy a little tale. It is all true, because the truth is much more fantastic than any lie that could be imagined...

A dear frend of mine, who is by trade a hardrock miner and prospector, came by my house one evening. He was carrying a tupperware bowl in his hand. He banged on the door and when I opened it he seemed shaken up, a little disoriented. He set the bowl on the kitchen table and this story spilled out…

He was working the surface along an established vein with a hammer and chisel, panning samples. There were several old hardrock mines in the area on a latticework of gold bearing veins, and his idea was that there were small pockets of free milling gold in between these mines on the main vein and in the smaller veins that criss cross the area. He would often break out nice rough crystalline pieces of gold from this material, and the ore would always pan well, but getting it out of the ground and breaking it up was a big job. To select a five gallon bucket of the thin vein and crush it would take most of the day, and one pan full of material would make 20 gallons of water look like thick red chile paste. Still, he could produce as much gold each day as I could on the average with a drywasher a half mile down the canyon… About 2 Dwt. per day with an occasional nugget. He had been working like this for many months, at least three or four days a week, traveling back home for a day or two and then coming back for more.