Nugget Shooter Forums

Patch Hunting Pays Off Sunday--Vulture Gold

Yo All....I've been doing a lot of patch hunting since 2008 rolled around and it's been pretty bleak...But I've been doing my research and following my gut...Today I was out riding around in the Vulture Mine area and got out on a narrow high ridge... I happened to notice an ironstone cap jutting out of the top with a strong quartz blowout next to it...on the other side was a sort of shischt looking seam and also noticed some pyrite scattered down the hill...Then I came upon a short drift into the steep side of the ridge ... I peered down the hill and there was a very tiny wash ... I figured somebody must have been pocket hunting and they probably started in the little wash that was down the hill about 350 feet...So I followed a trail around the ridge and it ended up way down right next to the mouth of the little wash...I hooked up my ol' baboo sd2100 and my14" Nuggetfinder E mono...I dropped down into the wash :icon_mrgreen: and worked slowly up about 10 feet up until I suddenly got a screamer that was up on the bench of the wash...Nulled out my headphones.. :headphones: ..Beer can, fer sure, I said to myself, but went ahead and dug it...It looked like this dirty old rock was making the noise, but when I picked it up, there was a tiny little fleck of gold sticking out and it was heavy...I spit on it and rubbed....Wow...So it turned out to be this very coarse beauty, 22.5 grams, just shy of 3/4 ounce.. :woohoo: ..It's only come down the hill and doesn't appear to have ever traveled in the wash itself...The photos don't do it justice...Cheers, Yer Happy Unc in the Dubyah

post-9-1209952642_thumb.jpg

post-9-1209952664_thumb.jpg

post-9-1209952682_thumb.jpg

post-9-1209952695_thumb.jpg

Nice going Ron,

That is one of prettier ones I've seen in awhile.

I think with the way you have been approaching your prospecting

it was only a matter of time.

All the best,

Flak