Nugget Shooter Forums
Sign in to follow this  
ArcticDave

Bacon wood knife scales

I have a small chunk of deadfall Sequoiadendron giganteum that I picked up several years ago. I finally got around to cutting some, and I'm pretty happy with the results. I have a knife that I really like, but I hated the cheapo plastic handles...perfect match!

I slabbed half of one of my treasured chunks and cut out the shape of the scales from a promising slab. After fastening the scales down I finished the final sanding, and sealed the wood with a light coat of shellac, followed with a coat of Johnsons paste wax. It is my first try so it is not perfect...but sure is better than the plastic crap. :D

Yummmm....bacon :brows:

No trees were harmed in the making of this knife handle.

20180611_154640.jpg

20180612_115134.jpg

20180612_115147.jpg

20180613_055041.jpg

20180613_055148.jpg

• Like 2
  • well done 2

VERY VERY nice Dave.....Cool looking

• Thanks 1

Very nice work.

• Thanks 1

Thats great Dave. Nice grain.

I like the look of Iron wood, but its so tough on bits/blades.

Tom

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Tom I have not tried working any Ironwood. You're right...sure is beautiful. This stuff is easy to work since it is a softwood. It is very dense for a softwood and the ring count is off the charts at close to 100 rings per inch!

There is subtle electric pink banding that does not show in a picture. It is really gorgeous wood. Not that hard to get ahold of either. It isn't cheap...but it is available in limited quantities. 

Reminds me of Cedar. 

Awesome job. Just apply the oil or whatever finish you go with on a normal basis. That's the thing about our environment we live in, very hard on wood handles because they dry out and crack. You probably knew that already. 

Beautiful knife bud.

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, homefire said:

Reminds me of Cedar. 

A little more pink than cedar, but very similar to work. Same drastic difference between the heartwood and sapwood too.