Nugget Shooter Forums
Jeffrocks

Petrified wood from NE FL

I've been collecting for a year or so now. Well re starting my collection. I've found these beautiful pieces. Any thoughts on them?

IMG_20180328_121245.jpg

1522254282931-1861641113.jpg

IMG_20180328_121313.jpg

IMG_20180328_121302.jpg

IMG_20180328_121322.jpg

IMG_20180328_121358.jpg

• Like 2

Welcome   you might want to post these items in the Rock, mineral and fossil section in the future.    I like to see good specimens.  Do you think any of these are fossils.  The bottom picture looks a lot like dino bone.  Keep on posting!

• Like 2

I'm no expert but some of those pics resemble petrified bone?! 

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

Yes, some look like they might be petrified bone. I've not heard of petrified wood from FL but there are bones from time to time of animals from the Pleistocene, etc. I'm not saying it is impossible that it is wood maybe some might resemble palm wood too, but I would think bones is as likely if not more so.

Edited by bigrex
  • Like 2

Hi Bigrex,

I don't know much about Florida off-hand but seems to me they would have areas for finding petrified wood.? I once fished a lake in Texas that was roughly 120 miles inland from the Gulf of Mexico that suprisingly abounded with smaller pieces of petrified wood. Most was regular type petrified wood with some pieces being opalized (not precious) and not quite as often you would find petrified palm-wood. After doing some research back home I found out that area was the Gulf of Mexico shoreline back during the Oligocene Epoch Era (40-25 million years ago)! How things change thru time :old: Best of luck to you and HH!

• Thanks 1

21 hours ago, Randall said:

Hi Bigrex,