Nugget Shooter Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Rocky

Big Shroom.

This is a large mushroom colony I found at work. I think it's a edible type,(not positive) but I left it alone. I've done mushroom hunting in a Belarus Forest just off the border of Russia. It was so much fun and the forest was amazing. I love mushrooms.

IMAG0195.jpg

• Like 3

That appears to be a "Chicken of the woods" mushroom, which is edible and delicious, there are several different varieties, I think that one is called "Pale chicken of the woods"  but I'm no expert so get an expert's opinion before attempting to consume it.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

50 minutes ago, Au Seeker said:

Chicken of the woods

That awesome in Belarus one of the favorite mushrooms to pick was called the "koritsa" mushroom, koritsa meaning chicken mushroom, it is tan with a dome cap not to be mistaken for the similar looking ones here in the states that are poisonous. The absolute most delicious mushroom I picked there was a mushroom called "lisichki" aka  "Chanterelle" mushroom they are absolutely packed with flavor and meaty, great for sauteing with onions and eating straight up. Not to be confused with the poisonous "false Chanterelle" mushroom which is a darker vivid orange that essentially crumbles when you touch it. Here is a very good picture of real "Chanterelle".

7127chanterelle_mushroom.jpg

• Like 4

We use to hunt shrooms when out fishing but you only have about two months here for any chance.

I was at Wolf Creek Campgound  last August and ate this one .........Lets just say , it was not  my best plan  :grr01:

IMG_9236.JPG

• Like 1
  • Haha 1
  • Hmmmmmm 1

Ha ha ...Yea , that was an Amanita  sp?  in my camp..... 

First pick is indeed Chicken of the Woods and they are very good eating, and Adam :tisk-tisk:Yours not so much.....

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

8 hours ago, adam said:

Lets just say , it was not  my best plan  :grr01: