Nugget Shooter Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Relichunter2016

Lithium Battery Charger question

My question is can a charger go bad even though the battery goes green after over night charging? One of the batteries...my old battery I have had for two years  gets a full charge and functions for about 4.5 hours when the charges goes down to 7.5 the low battery tone goes on.. The battery I just bought from a member gets an over night charge and voltage goes to 7.9 volts.....and low battery tone goes off at 7.5 volts after 2.45 hours. Is a 24 hour charge required..I just can't imagine anything else wrong, the battery I just bought looks brand spanking new with a green inspection sticker on bottom, if it were used much, this sticker would be gone like on my older battery. So, would it be smart to buy a new 120 volt to 12 volt charger?

Any advice would be appreciated....

Fred

R2016 I'm not a battery expert but what is the volts after the green light goes on. I have old and new batts and at full

charge the volts are 8.3 or 8.4. Any battery should be charged after an all night charge, 8 -10 hrs. Just guessing I'm 

thinking your charger is doing it's job but you have a weak battery. It could have been dropped which can wreck a batt.                                                     

• Like 1

Great topic, I'm looking for a good charger for 9 volts, and the AA and AAA's.

• Like 1

Hi Garimpo,

Yeah I am afraid that may be the problem....old batteries..I am going to give it a full charge again and see what the voltage is. Are you using the Minelab supplied silver batteries? I may have to just buy a new one....damned things are 440 bucks !! thanks for the reply.....maybe I' ll just charge them and bring them both to my hunts...:cry2: I can get 4 hours on one and 2.5 on the other....lol. :thumbsupanim that's a good days hunt for me anyways.... I can squeeze whats left out of them...and throw them in the fire....:2mo5pow: later..