Nugget Shooter Forums
frank c

Quartzsite area Question / Info

I am planning on being at Quartzsite area for Turkey Day this wed.24 thru sun.28.

I have no actual field experience in the area. I will be with 1 other couple and we will have 5th wheel trailers.

Anyone familiar with the La Paz placer area off Tom Wells rd. (La Paz wash, Goodman wash, Farrar gulch) any info on these and getting a 5th wheel in there to camp ???

La Cholla & Middlecamp Placers off Dome rock rd. any info on this area with reguards to gettin a 5th wheel an camping in there ???

Which of the 2 areas would you suggest over the other ??

Never been there and want to maximize our time detecting, I have a little info from books and thats all so any help / suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks Frank C.

No camping on the north side of the freeway from Quartzsite to Dome Rock Rd off ramp. Lots of camping on the south side.

Middle Camp placers are claimed by the Quartzsite Metal Detecting Club. They have another claim in the La Cholla area. There are several commercial operations on the north side plus the SCPMA (?) has a big claim on that side.

La Paz borders the Indian reservation. There is camping there but I don't know how easy it is to get into.

Goldbug Ron

Frank Goldbug Ron gave you good info also the Tom Wells rd area was closed to prospecting years ago, it is a resevation, and they will confiscate your possesions,Dome rock area is one of my favorites and you could get a 5th wheel in most areas there ,also there are a few spots right off dome rock rd were you could camp and even find a nugget or 2.:ph34r2:

I am planning on being at Quartzsite area for Turkey Day this wed.24 thru sun.28.

I have no actual field experience in the area. I will be with 1 other couple and we will have 5th wheel trailers.

Anyone familiar with the La Paz placer area off Tom Wells rd. (La Paz wash, Goodman wash, Farrar gulch) any info on these and getting a 5th wheel in there to camp ???